jane q. public

send whips of opinion down my back, give me more

He said there’s a storm coming in

with 2 comments

I’m pretty sure one of my aunts hates me, mostly because the family seems to be excited about the baby.

I’m concerned she’s going to turn this into a “best grandchild” competition with my mom.

She’s said some really hurtful things about me in the past (so awful, in fact, that I don’t feel like going into it, which is odd for someone who normally overdoes it with the venting), so this could get ugly.

I’m trying hard not to go off for now, but it’s tough. When this shit blows up at some point – and it will – I would like to come out looking like the good guy where my family is concerned.

Written by janeqpublic

February 21, 2012 at 10:54 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really don’t get what it is about getting married or having a baby, but it seems like any time one of these two things happen relatives go batshit insane and start demanding things or deriding any choice made by the two people actually involved in the situation.

    Chin up, haters gon’ hate, etc. 🙂

    Megan

    February 21, 2012 at 11:05 pm

    • Yes! I’m seeing a lot of similarities between annoying things that happen when you’re planning a wedding and annoying things that happen when you’re pregnant.

      I’m pretty sure this situation will only get worse. I’ve always heard about people stepping on toes when it comes to criticizing someone else’s child-rearing choices (I saw it happen with my mom when I was growing up), and those sort of things tend to get pretty volatile. How I handle it is going to be interesting to watch.

      janeqpublic

      February 22, 2012 at 1:02 am


Leave a Reply

