jane q. public

send whips of opinion down my back, give me more

Not part of the plan

with 2 comments

I’ve been moody this week. Everyone is on my nerves – even people I like. Today was no better.

We went to my appointment with the gestational diabetes doctor, and that’s going just fine. I’ve kept my blood sugar totally under control with diet alone (and bitched about it the whole time).

Then they did an ultrasound to see how the baby was doing and take measurements. That was all fine. She had hiccups and then she yawned for us, and that was cute. But she is big. Too big.

I’m at 32 weeks and 5 days today, and they estimated her weight at 5 pounds 14 ounces. The doctor came in to talk to us after the scan and stressed that I shouldn’t get my heart set on a vaginal delivery.

That was incredibly disappointing. He said that it is probably a genetic thing (J.R. and I were both over 8 pounds when we were born). He told us that babies who are large because of GDM usually are oversized in the stomach area, whereas our baby is just proportionally big all over. So I guess I don’t have to blame myself for eating those Girl Scout cookies.

We have our first childbirth class in less than an hour. I was excited about it, but now I think it’s just going to depress me even more, since I’m guessing C-sections will just be a footnote.

I have an appointment with the OB tomorrow. Maybe she will have something to say that will make me more optimistic.

Written by janeqpublic

March 1, 2012 at 5:56 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sending you much love right now. Sorry I missed you guys this week. It’s been a roller coaster at Chez Coma with being sick and then just the weirdo stuff that has happened.

    Kiss Sully and Jack because they make things better. 🙂

    newscoma

    March 1, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    • I understand. Sully and Jack are enjoying the weather (and barking at cats), but I’ll pass your message along when they get done with “work.”

      janeqpublic

      March 2, 2012 at 3:34 am


Leave a Reply

