jane q. public

send whips of opinion down my back, give me more

My opinions, and oh, I’ve got them – Part 2 of 5

Negative people love a pregnant woman. Well, negative people love anyone they can drag down with them, but who better to torment than someone who might be a little more disposed to stress and fear than the average person?

What I’m talking about is the “just you wait” or “you’ll change your tune” comments from veteran parents who are self-appointed experts.

First it may be about rules you want to set for your child. I see a lot of hateful condescension about this on message boards (a necessary evil of pregnancy, I’ve found) from women who already have kids toward first time moms. They scoff at mothers-to-be who are determined not to have their children run wild in a restaurant (probably the most common example). The older moms brush off the new ones and say, “Oh, silly first time moms. Just you wait until you’re juggling three kids. You’ll get over that.”

I admit that I may have to adjust some of my thinking on my “no child of mine will ever…” statements when the kid gets here, but I don’t think that because you’re a lazy parent, I have to resign myself to the same. If I work at it, I’m pretty sure I can hold my kids to the standards that I’ve always set in my mind for them.

If you think I’m going to fail at this, fine, but keep it to yourself.

That’s only the beginning.

When you get a little further into pregnancy and you start having bouts of fatigue or trouble getting to sleep, watch who you tell, because there’s always going to be someone who jumps at the chance to tell you how you may as well get used to it, because once the baby gets here, you’ll NEVER sleep again! EVER! Be afraid.

As if we haven’t been taught all of our lives through sitcoms that a new baby means a lot of lost or interrupted sleep. I know it’s going to be brutal, but I know it’s coming, and I don’t need you to remind me. Are you saying that when you went through it, it wasn’t worth it? Alright then. Shut up. Dick.

Sometimes when people assault you with so much negativity that you have to wonder if they are trying to help or trying to take away from your enjoyment of what’s going on.

Comments for this post are closed. I’ve learned that mothers and mothers-to-be can be an easily-angered, opinionated and judgmental group (obviously I’m no exception). In order to prevent myself from having one more thing to get mad about, I’m not really interested in hearing that you disagree. This is really my last place to vent, since Twitter and Facebook (oh especially you, Facebook) have become minefields. If you don’t like my opinion, no one’s forcing you to read.

Written by janeqpublic

March 7, 2012 at 5:40 am

