jane q. public

send whips of opinion down my back, give me more

My opinions, and oh, I’ve got them – Part 3 of 5

Some folks want to change how you have your labor planned.

In a way, I feel really bad for the women who choose natural childbirth in this regard. I’ll be honest – I feel that unmedicated childbirth is unnecessary, and I really hate it when people brag about it (it reminds me of the “I don’t own a TV” people), but if you want to do natural childbirth, that is absolutely your choice and you should be able to do it. I would never tell someone not to do it that way, because how is that any different than someone else trying to set the rules for my hoo-haa with regard to the issue of choice?

If you want to give birth in your kitchen with a midwife and a towel, have at it (unless, of course, you’re going against medical advice because of something like a high-risk pregnancy). I just think these women get it really bad coming from people who tell them they shouldn’t go unmedicated, or that they will give in mid-labor. I know that if someone tried to tell me that I shouldn’t get an epidural, I would punch them in the fucking mouth, and I so I can imagine that the women doing this the opposite way feel the same.

And why should it matter so much to someone outside of the situation whether or not you get that epidural? The fact that you’ve chosen to feel the pain or not feel the pain has no effect whatsoever on their lives. People just want to be bossy.

Comments for this post are closed. I’ve learned that mothers and mothers-to-be can be an easily-angered, opinionated and judgmental group (obviously I’m no exception). In order to prevent myself from having one more thing to get mad about, I’m not really interested in hearing that you disagree. This is really my last place to vent, since Twitter and Facebook (oh especially you, Facebook) have become minefields. If you don’t like my opinion, no one’s forcing you to read.

Written by janeqpublic

March 8, 2012 at 5:15 am

