jane q. public

send whips of opinion down my back, give me more

Please, Mister Postman

with 2 comments

This is probably mostly fueled by hormones and the grouchiness that comes with extreme fatigue, but I am saying a lot of impolite words about the US Postal Service tonight.

I guess I should rewind this a little bit. I designed some cute thank you notes for the baby awhile back – they match the birth announcements I created (details to be filled in later, of course). I searched for the least expensive printer, which led me to VistaPrint. I don’t have much of a complaint against them except that I wasn’t super enthused about their shipping prices. I ended up choosing the most basic one because they were too high, and then it took them a million years to ship it.

This is where the problems began. They shipped via UPS, which would have been fine, except it was one of those stupid things where UPS takes it to the local post office, so you end up getting it a day later than if UPS would have just brought the damn thing to you.

But today was the day that that USPS was supposed to finally bring the package to me. I waited and waited for the mail delivery, only to receive junk mail. I was super pissed, but I tracked the package, which was still listed as “out for delivery.” J.R. said that they probably had a separate truck that made those UPS-to-USPS deliveries, so I chilled out a little. Still the package never came.

I had pretty much given up, but I decided to track the package one last time. Its status had changed to “delivered” – at 11:00 a.m., no less. It’s now 6:35 p.m., and there is no damn package.

I just hope the person they gave it to is nice enough to give it back. I don’t know what they’d do with thank you notes with my daughter’s name on them anyway.

I’d like to go to the post office in the morning and raise hell, but if my USPS app is correct, my stupid post office is closed on Saturdays.

The thing is that I have a giant baby shower to attend tomorrow afternoon, and the shower happens to be for my kid. I really wanted to get started on the notes Sunday because they need to get done before the baby arrives – and with her being so big, who knows when that will be? Plus, I spent a lot of money on the damn things, and I WANT THEM.

I certainly can’t spend the money to reorder them, and even if VistaPrint was willing to work with me on that, I don’t have time to wait to get them reprinted and shipped.

This is a stupid thing to be so mad about, but $90 is a fortune to me, and I feel like I’ve wasted it.

Written by janeqpublic

March 10, 2012 at 6:43 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] those notes on the stationery I designed, but of course, that’s where everything went awry, as I mentioned the other […]

  2. […] Apparently the diapers were indeed delivered today – TO BOUNTIFUL, UTAH. The last time I checked, I lived in Nashville, Tennessee. It also said that the package had been refused, so at least nobody decided to keep it like they did with my kid’s thank you notes. […]


Leave a Reply

