jane q. public

send whips of opinion down my back, give me more

Getting there

with one comment

Yay! As of today I am done with the gestational diabetes doctor and his depressing office. I’m also done stabbing my fingers four times a day. I’ll get into why I’m critical of the way GDM is diagnosed another day.

On the plus side, we got yet another ultrasound, and everything was good. Well, except of course for the fact that she’s now an estimated 8 pounds and 3 ounces (give or take 18 ounces). Pretty huge since I’m still a few days away from the 38 week mark.

After tonight we will also be done with the childbirth classes as well. I didn’t mind those, but I’m not sure that they were all that necessary for me. I think I knew pretty much everything we were taught already from the books that I read. Still, it was good to hear about some of the hospital-specific protocol. I’d imagine J.R. took a lot away from it.

All that leaves now are the weekly appointments with the OB. She’s out of town this week, so I don’t even see her again until the end of next week. I’m hoping that labor will happen on its own prior to that. Aside from the baby’s ever-increasing size, I’m so uncomfortable!

We’ve tried all of the standard stupid things that are supposed to get the contractions started, none of which worked. We’ve even tried some weirder stuff that was suggested. My favorite was the huge batch of cookies. Obviously they didn’t do anything, but they were delicious. Basically, they’re ginger cookies with cayenne added. We used this recipe, but J.R. changed it to a heaping teaspoon of cayenne. I could’ve handled more, but it would have probably overwhelmed the rest of the cookie.

After a suggestion on Twitter, we went a different route last night. There is an Italian restaurant called Scalini’s near Atlanta that serves an eggplant parmesan, which they claim sends women into labor within 48 hours. I had heard this mentioned before (maybe by J.R. or my in-laws), but at this stage in the game, I was ready to give it a shot. Obviously I can’t make a road trip like that at this stage, especially for a plate of eggplant parmesan, which is why I was glad that they were kind enough to include the recipe on their website. Besides, as with the cookies, I wasn’t losing out if it didn’t work – I was getting a tasty meal.

We had the eggplant parmesan for dinner, and I’m about to have some leftovers for lunch. So, you know, maybe.

Written by janeqpublic

April 5, 2012 at 12:08 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] should backtrack a little. Predictably, the eggplant parmesan didn’t work (it was good, though). I went to a hockey game last night, absolutely sure […]


Leave a Reply

