jane q. public

send whips of opinion down my back, give me more

Septoplasty

leave a comment »

I’m having surgery in just under two weeks. Yay!

It’s a septoplasty, which is not a big deal in the grand scheme of things, but I’m a little anxious about the recovery experience. From what I’ve read, it sounds like it’s going to be incredibly uncomfortable – at best. Try googling “septoplasty splint removal.” Just kidding. You should never, ever do that.

Anyway, they’re doing the septoplasty, which basically means that they will slice me up a little and straighten out my septum. To look at me, you can’t tell that I have a pretty seriously deviated system, but if you had a CT scanning machine thingie at your disposal*, you’d see that it leans way left. Appropriate.

Apparently the wacky septum and one of the turbinates, which I don’t really understand, are really disrupting the airflow, and are possibly behind all of the weird sinus pressure shit I’ve been dealing with for the last few years. They will also be reducing a turbinate, whatever that means.

I also have this weird ginormous bump in my mouth that came from accidentally biting the same spot on my cheek repeatedly, and the doctor is going to get rid of that while he’s at it. It’s big enough that it will require stitches. Yum.

I’m not freaked out about the surgery, but I’m concerned about sinus headaches and pressure in the week following the surgery, as well as how the splints will feel. To save you from the horror of a Google image search, I will just tell you that the splints are flat, curved pieces of plastic (sort of a banana shape) that appear to be AT LEAST two inches long. They also have a straw-like tube running down their center to help air get in and, uh , all manner of other stuff get out.

Plus, I will have to be careful about not letting anything bump my nose. This means that living with a wild one-year-old is about to become an exercise in fear.

I’m mostly looking forward to getting this over with, but I can’t help the nervousness that’s creeping in.

*How cool would that be? It’s like being in a space ship. You know, probably.

Written by janeqpublic

May 12, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

