jane q. public

send whips of opinion down my back, give me more

glasses

with 2 comments

Maybe my favorite pair. Fake wood grain on the temple arms!

Maybe my favorite pair. Fake wood grain on the temple arms!

I was a little overdue for new glasses (so long, dear Prada frames), so I thought I’d give Zenni Optical a try. Our budget is tight, and I can’t think of a compelling reason to buy expensive frames if I can get them so cheap online. Plus, I have a wild baby who loves to grab glasses – you get the picture.

I had a budget of $150, so I ended up ordering five pairs. When I first got them, I had some headache issues for a day, so I got a little nervous. In hindsight, I should have ordered one, just in case the new prescription wasn’t right. Luckily, I adjusted and they’re fine.

Eyeball extensions.

Eyeball extensions.

Obviously, I didn’t need so many – I’d hoped for a pair and a backup, plus sunglasses, but they’re so inexpensive, I was able to get five in at only $0.45 over my budget. This was with free shipping (a Memorial Day promo), but their regular shipping is just a $4.95 flat rate.

I added on clip-on sunglasses to a pair (I think they were $3.95) just to see what they were like… They’re kind of cheap and silly, but oh well. My better half can use them over his glasses, I suppose.

I don't wear my sunglasses at night.

I don’t wear my sunglasses at night.

I was pretty excited to finally have prescription sunglasses, too. I can live without prescription glasses for day driving, but I can’t go without sunglasses. I wear them whether it’s sunny or cloudy. Now I’ll be able to read street names from a reasonable distance in the daytime, and that seems like a nice skill to have.

The sunglasses are available in several different tint colors and strengths. I went with the highest strength (80%), and I chose purple over the traditional grey, because I thought it went nicely with the aqua frames.

Anyway, the takeaway is this: I would absolutely recommend Zenni Optical. It’s probably best just to go for one inexpensive pair if you have a new prescription, and you can go back and order more if they’re working out. Oh, and skip the clip-on sunglasses.

Oh! I almost forgot! The glasses all come with decent hard-shell plastic cases and a cloth lens wipe. I mention this because the lens wipes have different tacky photos on the back, like beach sunsets and mountain streams. This amuses me for some reason.

lenswipes

Written by janeqpublic

June 9, 2013 at 11:53 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Does the 80% purple tint allow you to drive into the sunlight without squinting? I’m in need of some sunglasses for driving and it would be a big plus if they’re purple.

    SRS

    December 22, 2014 at 6:01 am

    • I don’t do a lot of driving towards the direction of the sun, but I don’t remember having a problem. I still use them every day, and I’m really happy with them. Plus the purple tint makes colors look even prettier (though there’s not much color to look at outside this time of year).

      janeqpublic

      December 22, 2014 at 10:13 am


Leave a Reply

