jane q. public

send whips of opinion down my back, give me more

Exciting Knee Stuff! (that’s a lie)

with 2 comments

Ha. The knee straps didn’t end up being so magical after all. I don’t know why they worked so well the first time I put them on. I don’t think it was a placebo effect, because I was in pretty bad pain, so who knows. Every subsequent time I’ve put them on, I’ve had varying levels of success or none at all.

The day after my last post, I went for a run with the knee straps on. The pain was apparent almost immediately, so I turned around and walked back to the car. It pretty much got worse and worse from there.

Fortunately, I had some pain medication (as in the real stuff) left over from my septoplasty, so that was helpful, but that stuff kind of makes me feel like crap after a couple of days. Eventually I was able to manage it with ibuprofen, and now I don’t need that. I realized this evening that there was no pain, so I’m going to sit out one more day and get back at it Tuesday morning with the knee straps.

I’m headed to Florida in October, and I’d like to be able to run for an extended period of time while I’m there. I have no idea how much I’ll be able to do, though. Prior to getting hurt I was only doing one minute at a time, and I’m sure I’ve lost any progress that I made, so I’ll be starting over Tuesday morning.

Written by janeqpublic

July 29, 2013 at 1:03 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There are few things more frustrating than wanting to run but being sidelined by knee problems. I have permanent damage to my knees from a car wreck years ago (wear your seatbelt, kids!), and I tried a few years ago to start running and it just isn’t happening. So I feel your pain. I hope it gets better for you!

    Megan

    July 29, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    • I guess I’ll know in the morning if I can still do it. It really surprised me how much I like running (what little I’ve done, anyway), even though that’s what I wanted.

      janeqpublic

      July 30, 2013 at 8:52 am


Leave a Reply

