jane q. public

send whips of opinion down my back, give me more

Confessions

leave a comment »

I have a couple of confessions to make.

CONFESSION #1: I’m kind of hooked on Pinterest. There’s a whole lot of it that can be annoying (hello, chevrons and burlap wreaths!), but it can also be a pretty useful tool as well as a good time killer. I’ve used it to plan vacations, and in more recent months to motivate me to run. When I was getting up the nerve to run for the first time, I spent a lot of time putting together cute running outfits (that I could never afford) with Polyvore and Pinterest to inspire me. It worked. I’ve gone back to that lately as I’ve started to slide back into a regular running habit.

CONFESSION #2: I’ve been reading corny motivational quote pins. Yep. I’ve turned into one of those people. I didn’t mean to, but I need all the help I can get when it. I’m still sort of embarrassed about this. Plus, you have to be careful – a lot of them are just thinly veiled pro-eating disorder images. While I’m fortunate enough not to have that problem, I certainly don’t want to be in a position where I’m disseminating that sort of thing to people who can be harmed by it.

Nevertheless, sometimes they provide the right push, especially when I can relate to them.

Today, I’m stuck on this one:

Good habits are as addictive as bad habits, and a lot more rewarding.

I like it because it turns out that it’s true. I had to find a good habit that I really enjoyed, though.

In other news, I’m LOVING my Fitbit Force. It really has motivated me to move more than I normally would have. It’s also got me drinking a lot more water. I hope all of that lasts. If the estimate of calories burned is anywhere close to accurate, then it has had an unexpected benefit: allowing me to eat more. I was trying my best to keep my intake at 1200 calories a day, but you know what? THAT’S NOT ENOUGH DAMN FOOD. I was always hungry or going over it and feeling like I’d failed. It turns out that I burn more in a day than I thought, and that allows me to take in a few more calories while still maintaining a 500-calorie-per-day  deficit – or sometimes a little more.

I’m right in the middle of the monthly attack of hormonal water retention (TMI? Whatev.), so I don’t know yet how my weight’s doing. I expect (if all goes as it did prior to my October diet/running derailment) for my weight to resume its slow and steady decline in a week or less.

Basically, I’m back to being optimistic. The truth is that I’ve never found losing weight to be hard. The only difficult parts for me are getting started with it, and then keeping it off.

Written by janeqpublic

February 14, 2014 at 6:48 am

Leave a Reply

