jane q. public

send whips of opinion down my back, give me more

Oh yeah, I forgot about that

leave a comment »

About that 5K…

I knew I wanted to do one of the color races, since those look like the most fun. First I looked into The Color Run, as it’s the one I’d heard about the most. Unfortunately, that one is coming to town on March 29, and I didn’t feel like I could possibly be ready in time.

Eventually I found my way to Color Me Rad, which won’t be here until June 22nd. I feel like I will probably be able to run the whole thing by then. Anyway, I signed up myself and J, and later convinced my mom to sign up so she could walk Z through it in the stroller.

I didn’t really realize at first how casual these races are, so I was a little freaked out and intimidated, but now that I’ve read that there are a lot of walkers and first timers, I’m really excited – which brings me to today’s decision…

A friend mentioned on Facebook that she wanted to do The Color Run, and I decided, “Fuck it. I’m doing this.” I was excited enough about Color Me Rad that it was going to be tough to wait until late June anyway.

I realized, too, that I don’t have to feel pressure to be “ready,” since I have the option of walking if that’s what I need to do. The Couch-to-5K training plan I’m using should be within a couple days of its finish by then if all goes according to plan, so I may be doing better than I think running-wise by the time the race rolls around. My goal at this point, though, is to have fun. So yay.

Written by janeqpublic

February 20, 2014 at 2:03 am

Leave a Reply

