jane q. public

send whips of opinion down my back, give me more

Progress

leave a comment »

Whew. The C25K app I’ve been using got a little more difficult on me today. Running for five straight minutes is nothing to a lot of people, but it was a challenge for me. I think that was about as much as I was able to do before I got hurt last October, so everything from here forward is progress.

The previous level of the app had me running 1.5 minutes, walking 2 minutes, running 3 minutes, then walking another 2 (these are always sandwiched between a 5 minute warm up and a 5 minute cool down) twice. Today it was running 3 minutes, walking 1.5 minutes (I think), running 5 minutes, followed by another 1.5 minute walk, then repeating the whole thing. I had to slow to a walk for a little bit during the second 5 minute stretch, but that was more because I had been running up a relatively steep hill than because of the length of time I had to run.

I covered a lot more ground and cut my time quite a bit today. It’s not that I was running faster, but that I was running more of the time than usual. In fact, I did a pretty good job of keeping at a slow and steady pace today. I’ve had a tough time doing that, so I wear out fast. It’s important for me to get a handle on that, since I’ve got those 5Ks coming up.

Speaking of… I got around to registering for The Color Run yesterday, this time as part of a team. I’m very excited about it! Plus, who doesn’t like getting free crap?

The Color Run - swag

Written by janeqpublic

February 23, 2014 at 2:52 am

Leave a Reply

