jane q. public

send whips of opinion down my back, give me more

Ice storm

with one comment

After Saturday’s run, I said that the one on Sunday would seem easy. I was surprised to find out that I was wrong. I didn’t have trouble breathing – I think my heart and lungs have really caught up – but my legs were sooooo tired. Luckily, I was scheduled for a rest day today anyway.

Of course, I wouldn’t have had a choice on not running today. We’re in the middle of a bit of an ice storm, and I’m stuck at the house. I can handle running in the cold, but I’m not running on ice. Do people even do that? Surely not. Add to that the fact that we live on a really steep hill, and the idea of trying to navigate it is like instant death.

I’m stressed about tomorrow, though. I’ve quit running in my immediate neighborhood since a neighbor told me that someone tried to pull a woman into a car nearby. I think it may have been several years ago, but still… Anyway, I go to our nearest greenway, which I love. Unfortunately, the makeup of our neighborhood and the distance from my house to the trailheads makes it just this side of “too inconvenient to walk there,” so I have to drive to a trailhead to run.

Running tomorrow morning is starting to look impossible. First of all, with the wind chill, the temperature at my normal running time is supposed to feel like 7ºF. I’m capable of running in cold, but that’s a little extreme for me. I don’t think I even have appropriate clothes to handle it.

I’m hoping I can find time later in the day to make it over there, but there’s a big obstacle which may prevent that. Literally.

tree

Sorry for the partially obscured upstairs window photo – I’m too tired/cold/lazy to make a better effort.

Thanks to our lovely winter storm, we lost a tree overnight. We were fortunate in that it didn’t hit the house or anything else, but it did fall right across the driveway. I’m concerned that it’s going to prevent me from getting out to run tomorrow, and even worse – it could keep me from going to the hockey game tomorrow night. We’ll see.

In other news, my oldies playlist from last Thursday wasn’t all that great for running, but it was a good playlist for loving music. I’m going back to my old standby until I have a chance to put a new one together.

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a sucktacular week. Between ice storms, a driveway blocked by a tree, and an awful stomach virus, I was glad to get back to the greenway this morning. Running went well […]


Leave a Reply

