jane q. public

send whips of opinion down my back, give me more

Better than no run at all

leave a comment »

I’m tired.

J. ran with me on Saturday, since he’s doing The Color Run and Color Me Rad with me. He ran in high school, so he has a lot more experience and was able to jump in and do 25 minutes without working up to it. I did it as well. It was tough, but I didn’t feel like I was going to die or anything. I think I ran a little faster than I would’ve liked. I guess I was trying to keep up. In addition to having running experience, J. is 6’4″, so he can cover a lot of ground.

I had every intention of running another 25 minutes on my own Sunday, but I realized that my legs were really tired and could use a break, so I skipped it.

This afternoon J. and I set out to do another 25 minutes, but it didn’t really work out. First we couldn’t find an available grandparent to watch Z. for 40 minutes or so, so we had to bring her a long and run in consecutive shifts. Unfortunately my shift ended early. I think I got in about 18 or 19 minutes of running, which isn’t bad, but it’s not progress. I was having a tough time, but I kept pushing through until I just couldn’t do it anymore. I was out of breath! I think I was running too fast.

After that, I traded off with J. and took the stroller so he could run. I think he only got in 18 minutes as well. I’ll just have to try again tomorrow. Anyway, all of this pushed my training schedule back a couple of days, but I’m hoping I can keep it together from here on out – meaning I would be able to run 30 minutes by next Tuesday. There’s not any reason for me to be in such a hurry to hit 30 minutes other than it being a goal I’ve set for myself.

I was really disappointed with my failure this afternoon until I looked at the numbers. I ran 2.43 miles, and then I walked an additional 1.31 miles after that, totaling 3.74 miles – a little more than I currently do on a successful run. Better still, the estimate of calories burned for both activities came in at 380. When I ran 25 minutes on Saturday, the estimate for calories burned came up at 330.

I listened to most of the mix I made the other day. Meh. It serves its purpose. I am willing to listen to some stuff while running that I wouldn’t enjoy in other situations. I guess it’s the tempo.

Written by janeqpublic

March 11, 2014 at 5:29 am

Leave a Reply

