jane q. public

send whips of opinion down my back, give me more

Let’s talk about something different

leave a comment »

I’m making a bigger and better effort to grow a bunch of food this year. I planted a bunch of seeds in peat pellets the other day, but I didn’t want to spend money on those flimsy plastic greenhouses. Then a little lightbulb appeared over my head…

Image

I have a bunch of these super cheap Sterilite containers. They suck. Half the time, the little latches don’t even work. This is a small one, made for holding index cards.

Image

I put the peat pellets in the lids, soaked them, and planted the seeds.

Image

I closed them upside down, and voila! Mini-greenhouses.

I didn’t take a picture, but I have a larger one – shoebox-sized – that I did the same way. So far I’ve planted kale, spinach, lettuce and broccoli. Tomorrow I’ll be planting multicolored carrots, but those are being sown directly outside.

Written by janeqpublic

March 16, 2014 at 9:26 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

