jane q. public

send whips of opinion down my back, give me more

Richland Creek Run VIII

leave a comment »

So, um…

This morning was the Richland Creek Run. I ran 3.31 miles Thursday morning, so my goal today was to run the first 3.35 miles of the race and walk the remainder. It didn’t quite go as I’d planned.

When I was somewhere beyond three miles in (3.25, I later found out), my headphones bit the dust as did my phone battery. I was really annoyed because this meant I wasn’t going to know exactly how much of it I ran, and I’m kind of a stats nerd when it comes to this stuff.

So I decided to keep running.

And running.

And running.

When I hit Mile 4, stopping to walk just wasn’t an option. I wouldn’t have forgiven myself. Also, for some reason it felt pretty easy after I hit three miles.

So I did it. I ran all five miles of the race.

I’ve learned in the time I’ve been running that you end up doing things you thought you couldn’t do – or that you wouldn’t be able to do for a long time. Still, this surprised me!

That much work was stressful on my knees, so I may have to take an unplanned rest day tomorrow.

Until then…

Richland Creek Run

.

 

Written by janeqpublic

April 6, 2014 at 7:23 am

Leave a Reply

